

# TRAVIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 6 Regular Session Minutes Thursday, March 24, 2022

#### 1. Call to Order

With a quorum present, the regular session meeting of Travis County ESD No. 6 was called to order by Commissioner Barr at 12 p.m. noon on Thursday, March 24, 2022 at Lake Travis Fire Rescue Headquarters, 15304 Pheasant Lane, Austin, Travis County, Texas 78734.

Commissioner Paula S. Barr	President	Present
Commissioner Shiloh Newman	Assistant Treasurer	Present
Commissioner Jessica Clinton	Secretary	Present
Commissioner Larry Sartin	Board Member	Present
Commissioner Matt Womack	Board Member	Present

#### 2. Safety awareness

The Fire Chief reported that the City of Austin/Travis County mask mandate had been lifted, but that there is a COVID Omicron B2 variant spike in Europe.

#### 3. Public comment

None.

#### 4. Administer Oath of Office to reappointed and newly-appointed commissioners

Board President Paula S. Barr administered the oath of office to newly-appointed commissioner Matt Womack and reappointed commissioner Jessica Clinton.

#### 5. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on expenditures over \$2,000

Members of the Board heard from: Fire Chief Abbott Chief Financial Officer Smith

**MOTION:** Approve the expenditures over \$2,000 as presented.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

**MOVER:** Commissioner Larry Sartin, Board Member

**SECONDER:** Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Assistant Treasurer

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin, Matt Womack

# 6. <u>Discuss and/or take appropriate action on issuing District credit cards for Battalion Chiefs Robert</u> Rygg and Adam Lear with a credit limit of \$5,000

Members of the Board heard from:

Chief Financial Officer Smith

MOTION: Approves issuing District credit cards for Battalion Chiefs Robert Rygg and Adam Lear with

a credit limit of \$5,000.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

**MOVER:** Commissioner Larry Sartin, Board Member

**SECONDER:** Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Assistant Treasurer

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin, Matt Womack

#### 7. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Levrum Data Technologies Agreement

Members of the Board heard from:

Fire Chief Abbott

**MOTION:** Approves the Levrum Data Technologies Agreement and authorizes the Board President

to sign the agreement.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

**MOVER:** Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Assistant Treasurer

**SECONDER:** Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin, Matt Womack

#### 12. Fire Chief comments

Members of the Board heard from:

Fire Chief Abbott

Chief Administrative Officer Marczynski

RESULT: DISCUSSED

#### 10. Executive Session (No public discussion on these items)

The Travis County Emergency Services District No. 6 Board of Fire Commissioners will consider the following items in Executive Session. The Commissioners may also consider any other matter posted on the agenda if there are issues that require consideration in Executive Session and the Commissioners announce that the item will be considered during Executive Session. No action may be taken on any items considered during Executive Session.

A. Tex Govt. Code §551.074: Deliberation about personnel matters

- B. Tex Govt. Code §551.072: Deliberation about real property
- C. Tex Govt. Code §551.071: Consult with attorneys Regarding all matters as authorized by law

RESULT: NO ACTION TAKEN

# 8. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action regarding acquisition of real property

RESULT: NO ACTION TAKEN

### 9. Board member training

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President Fire Chief Abbott Doug Young, Attorney

RESULT: DISCUSSED

#### 10. Executive Session (No public discussion on these items)

The Travis County Emergency Services District No. 6 Board of Fire Commissioners will consider the following items in Executive Session. The Commissioners may also consider any other matter posted on the agenda if there are issues that require consideration in Executive Session and the Commissioners announce that the item will be considered during Executive Session. No action may be taken on any items considered during Executive Session.

- D. Tex Govt. Code §551.074: Deliberation about personnel matters
- E. Tex Govt. Code §551.072: Deliberation about real property
- F. Tex Govt. Code §551.071: Consult with attorneys Regarding all matters as authorized by law

RESULT: NO ACTION TAKEN

# 9. Board member training

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President Fire Chief Abbott Doug Young, Attorney

#### 11. Election of officers for the Board of Commissioners

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President Chief Administrative Officer Jessica Marczynski

#### Chief Financial Officer Sharon Smith

**MOTION:** Nominates Commissioner Matt Womack as Board Treasurer.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

**MOVER:** Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Assistant Treasurer

**SECONDER:** Commissioner Larry Sartin, Board Member

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin

**MOTION:** Unanimously agrees that Commissioner Barr is uniquely qualified so the 2-year term can

be waived.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Larry Sartin, Board Member SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary

AYES: Shiloh Newman, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin, Matt Womack

**MOTION:** Nominates Commissioner Paula S. Barr as Board President.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

**MOVER:** Commissioner Larry Sartin, Board Member

**SECONDER:** Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Assistant Treasurer

AYES: Shiloh Newman, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin, Matt Womack

MOTION: Nominates Commissioner Shiloh Newman as Board Vice President.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Larry Sartin, Board Member SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Jessica Clinton, Larry Sartin, Matt Womack

MOTION: Nominates Commissioner Jessica Clinton as Board Secretary and Commissioner Larry

Sartin as Board Assistant Treasurer.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

**MOVER:** Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Vice President

**SECONDER:** Commissioner Matt Womack, Treasurer

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Matt Womack

#### 13. Commissioners interests and future agenda items

Members of the Board heard from:

Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President

Commissioner Shiloh Newman, Vice President

Chief Administrative Officer Marczynski

RESULT: DISCUSSED

# **ADJOURN**

Approved by the Board of Commissioners:

03-24-22

Date of Approval

Jessica Clinton, Secretary