

TRAVIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 6

Regular Session Minutes Thursday, February 23, 2023

1. Call to Order

With a quorum present, the regular session meeting of Travis County ESD No. 6 was called to order by Commissioner Barr at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, February 23, 2023 at Lake Travis Fire Rescue Headquarters, 15304 Pheasant Lane, Austin, Travis County, Texas 78734.

Commissioner Paula S. Barr	President	Present
Commissioner Shiloh Newman	Vice President	Present
Commissioner Matt Womack	Treasurer	Present
Commissioner Larry Sartin	Assistant Treasurer	Present
Commissioner Jessica Clinton	Secretary	Present

3. Public comment

None.

4. Election of officers for the Board of Commissioners

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President

MOTION: Nominates Paula S. Barr as President, Shiloh Newman as Vice President, Matt Womack

as Treasurer, Larry Sartin as Assistant Treasurer and Jessica Clinton as Secretary of the

Board of Commissioners of Travis County ESD No. 6.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Larry Sartin, Assistant Treasurer

SECONDER: Commissioner Matt Womack, Treasurer

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Matt Womack, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton

CONSENT

5. Approve the minutes of the Thursday, February 23, 2023 Regular Session

6. Approve the January 2023 Financial Report

7. Approve the January 2023 Investment Report

8. Approve expenditures over \$2,000

MOTION: Approve Consent Items 5-8 as presented.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Larry Sartin, Assistant Treasurer

SECONDER: Commissioner Matt Womack, Treasurer

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Matt Womack, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton

9. <u>Discuss and accept the Audit for Fiscal Year 2022</u> (Financial Statements for the Year ended September 30, 2022 and Independent Auditors' Report by Maxwell, Locke and Ritter, LP)

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President Chief Financial Officer Sharon V. Smith Jimmy Rommel, Maxwell, Locke and Ritter, LP

MOTION: Accepts the Audit for Fiscal Year 2022.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Matt Womack, Treasurer **SECONDER:** Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary

AYES: Paula S. Barr, Shiloh Newman, Matt Womack, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton

10. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Board Educational Sub-Committees' work

Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Legislative Strategic Plan

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President Commissioner Larry Sartin, Assistant Treasurer Fire Chief Robert B. Abbott

Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Citizen's Advisory Committee

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President

RESULT: DISCUSSED

11. Executive Session (No public discussion on these items)

The Travis County Emergency Services District No. 6 Board of Fire Commissioners will consider the following items in Executive Session. The Commissioners may also consider any other matter posted on the agenda if there are issues that require consideration in Executive Session and the Commissioners

announce that the item will be considered during Executive Session. No action may be taken on any items considered during Executive Session.

- A. Tex Govt. Code §551.074: Deliberation about personnel matters
- B. Tex Govt. Code §551.072: Deliberation about real property
- C. Tex Govt. Code §551.071: Consult with attorneys Regarding any matters on this agenda

RESULT: NO EXECUTIVE SESSION NEEDED

12. <u>Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Travis County ESD Commissioners Council (ESDCC)</u>

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President

RESULT: DISCUSSED

13. <u>Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Texas State Association of Fire Emergency Districts (SAFE-D)</u>

Commissioner training opportunities

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President

RESULT: DISCUSSED

14. Fire Chief comments

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary Fire Chief Robert B. Abbott Assistant Fire Chief/Fire Marshal Glenn Trubee

15. Commissioners interests and future agenda items

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, President

RESULT: DISCUSSED

ADJOURN

Approved by the Board of Commissioners:

03-23-2023

Date of Approval

Jessica Clinton, Secretary