

TRAVIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 6

Regular Session Minutes Thursday, March 28, 2024

1. Call to Order

With a quorum present, the regular session meeting of Travis County ESD No. 6 was called to order by Commissioner Newman at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 28, 2024 at Lake Travis Fire Rescue Headquarters, 15304 Pheasant Lane, Austin, Travis County, Texas 78734.

Commissioner Shiloh Newman	President	Present
Commissioner Larry Sartin	Vice President	Present
Commissioner Matt Womack	Treasurer	Absent
Commissioner Jessica Clinton	Secretary-Asst. Treasurer	Present
Commissioner Paula S. Barr	Board Member	Present

2. Safety awareness

Fire Chief Abbott reported that Travis County is still in a drought despite heavy rains and hail. The Central Texas Water Coalition and Travis County Water and Control Improvement District #17 gave a presentation on the drought conditions and the challenges that will be faced going into the summer on March 26 at a Lake Travis Chamber Luncheon. By weather predictions the Highland Lakes communities would have to have months of rain every day to catch up where we left off before the drought.

The Fire Chief also commented on the fact that the District is prepping for the traffic that will be brought by the April 8 total solar eclipse viewings.

3. Public comment

None.

4. Personnel recognition

Assistant Fire Chief Prather recognized Engineer John Hagerty and Firefighter Sam Wieland for receiving a Critical Care Excellence Award on March 5 by the Travis County Commissioners Court. On March 23 at the Lakeway Eggstravaganza, the Director of Parks and Recreation Andra Bennett brought a lost child to

LTFR's engine to help calm the child until reunited with the parent. Those helping the child and recognized by Assistant Fire Chief Prather were Battalion Chief Jeremy Petersma, Captain Chad Huff, Firefighter Sam Wieland, Firefighter Axel Gomez and Firefighter Taylor O'Bryon.

Fire Chief Abbott recognized Attorneys Lauren Binger and David Klein of Lloyd Gosselink Attorneys at Law for the projects that they have helped the District with recently.

CONSENT

- 5. Approve the minutes of the Thursday, February 15, 2024 Regular Session
- 6. Approve the February 2024 Financial Report
- 7. Approve the February 2024 Investment Report
- 8. Approve expenditures over \$2,000

MOTION: Approve Consent Items 5-8 as presented.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Larry Sartin, Vice President

SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary-Assistant Treasurer **AYES:** Shiloh Newman, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton, Paula S. Barr

ABSENT: Matt Womack

9. <u>Discuss and accept the Audit for Fiscal Year 2023 (Financial Statements for the Year ended</u> September 30, 2023 and Independent Auditors' Report by Maxwell, Locke and Ritter, LP

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Shiloh Newman

Commissioner Paula S. Barr

Fire Chief Abbott

Chief Financial Officer Smith

Jimmy Rommel, Maxwell, Locke and Ritter partner

MOTION: Accept the Audit for Fiscal Year 2023 (Financial Statements for the Year ended September

30, 2023 and Independent Auditors' Report by Maxwell, Locke and Ritter, LP.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, Board Member

SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary-Assistant Treasurer **AYES:** Shiloh Newman, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton, Paula S. Barr

ABSENT: Matt Womack

10. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Board Educational Sub-Committees' work

• Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Legislative Strategic Plan

Members of the Board heard from:

Fire Chief Abbott

Commissioner Paula S. Barr Legislative Educational Consultant Gib Lewis Legislative Educational Consultant Debbie Mitchell

RESULT: DISCUSSED

• Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Community Advisory Committee

RESULT: NONE TO DISCUSS

11. <u>Discuss and/or take appropriate action on issuing a District credit card for County Resource</u> <u>Coordinator Augustus Reyna with a credit limit of \$5,000</u>

Members of the Board heard from:

Chief Financial Officer Smith

MOTION: Approve issuing a District credit card for County Resource Coordinator Augustus Reyna

with a credit limit of \$5,000.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, Board Member

SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary-Assistant Treasurer **AYES:** Shiloh Newman, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton, Paula S. Barr

ABSENT: Matt Womack

14. Update and/or discuss ongoing District construction projects

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Shiloh Newman Commissioner Larry Sartin Commissioner Paula S. Barr Fire Chief Abbott Chief Financial Officer Smith

RESULT: DISCUSSED

12. Executive Session (No public discussion on these items)

The Travis County Emergency Services District No. 6 Board of Fire Commissioners will consider the following items in Executive Session. The Commissioners may also consider any other matter posted on the agenda if there are issues that require consideration in Executive Session and the Commissioners announce that the item will be considered during Executive Session. No action may be taken on any items considered during Executive Session.

- A. Tex Govt. Code §551.074: Deliberation about personnel matters
- B. Tex Govt. Code §551.071: Consult with attorneys Blaze School litigation update
- C. Tex Govt. Code §551.071: Consult with attorneys Regarding any matters on this agenda

RESULT: NO ACTION TAKEN

13. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Blaze School litigation

Members of the Board heard from:

Fire Chief Abbott

MOTION: Approve Agreement to Abate, as proposed by attorney, all-pretrial matters to allow the

parties to speak directly with each other to work toward compliance regarding the Blaze

School litigation.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, Board Member

SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary-Assistant Treasurer **AYES:** Shiloh Newman, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton, Paula S. Barr

ABSENT: Matt Womack

15. Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on City of Austin Dispatch Agreement

Members of the Board heard from:

Fire Chief Abbott

Commissioner Jessica Clinton

MOTION: Approve City of Austin Fire Dispatch Agreement and direct the Fire Chief and Board

President to coordinate the final review and signatures.

RESULT: APPROVED (UNANIMOUS)

MOVER: Commissioner Paula S. Barr, Board Member

SECONDER: Commissioner Jessica Clinton, Secretary-Assistant Treasurer **AYES:** Shiloh Newman, Larry Sartin, Jessica Clinton, Paula S. Barr

ABSENT: Matt Womack

16. <u>Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Travis County ESD Commissioners Council</u> (ESDCC)

Members of the Board heard from:

Commissioner Paula S. Barr

Fire Chief Abbott

RESULT: DISCUSSED

17. <u>Update, discuss and/or take appropriate action on Texas State Association of Fire Emergency</u> Districts (SAFE-D)

Commissioner training opportunities

Members of the Board heard from:

Commissioner Shiloh Newman

RESULT: DISCUSSED

18. Fire Chief's Report

Members of the Board heard from: Fire Chief Abbott

RESULT: DISCUSSED

19. Commissioners interests and future agenda items

Members of the Board heard from: Commissioner Shiloh Newman Commissioner Paula S. Barr Chief Financial Officer Smith

RESULT: DISCUSSED

ADJOURN

Approved by the Board of Commissioners:

04-25-2024

Date of Approval

Jessica Clinton, Secretary-Assistant Treasurer